top of page

Everyday Face Favourites






Come on feminists, do the radical thing and don't ditch your makeup bag. Julie Bindel tried to tell us the opposite in an article for the Independent back in January, and I, among many others, was incensed. It was a beyond patronising comment clearly aimed at young women and, further, ignoring the passion for makeup and feminism among men. I love makeup. I love wearing makeup and buying makeup and reading about makeup. I love introducing others to makeup that I've found and have fallen in love with. In fact, I have enough makeup to fill five makeup bags. But does that mean I'm not a feminist? Of course it doesn't. I wear makeup pretty much everyday, putting in varying levels of effort depending on how much time I have or what mood I'm in. But most of all, I love those golden products I can wear regardless of if I have five minutes or 50 minutes in the morning or before a night out. So below, I want to share those favourites with you so we can just get on with being young people who have the capacity to both believe in equality and enjoy drooling over the new Urban Decay Naked Reloaded Palette.


Foundation: Tarte Clay Stick Foundation, £31 tartecosmetics.com


Tarte Clay Stick Foundation

If you are looking for a foundation that takes seconds to apply, then this needs to go straight into your basket. I use this every morning and the time I take to do my makeup has halved. It's a little oily so may need to be set with powder, and there are only 11 shades to choose from, but it's unbeatable if you want a quick and easy application when you're a little groggy in the morning.


Concealer: Yves Saint Laurent All Hours Concealer, £23 yslbeauty.co.uk


YSL All Hours Concealer

My life changed the day I walked into Harvey Nichols in Leeds and tried this godsend of a concealer. Blendable and full coverage, this product is perfect for those days when you don't fancy wearing foundation and for when you have a particularly stubborn spot that just refuses to be hidden. This concealer is a must have in your makeup bag.


Bronzer: Hoola by Benefit, £26 benefitcosmetics.com


Hoola by Benefit

Hoola by Benefit needs no introduction. It's a classic. I would recommend not using the brush provided to apply this famous bronzer and to instead use a bigger brush to blend, blend, blend so you avoid any harsh lines.


Eyebrows: Yves Saint Laurent Dessin Des Sourcils Eyebrow Pencil, £21 yslbeauty.co.uk


YSL Dessin Des Sourcils eyebrow pencil

This pencil is out-of-this-world blendable. If you're looking for an everyday natural brow look, this pencil is the way to go. Although it has a hefty price tag at £21, I have used it practically daily for almost a year to the day and it looks set to see me through another year. This pencil comes with a spoolie and a sharpener, so no need to shell out any extra cash.


Eyes and Cheeks: Tarte Clay Play Must-Have Eye and Cheek Palette Vol. II, £40 tartecosmetics.com


Tarte Clay Play Must-Have Vol. II

When I unwrapped this palette on Christmas day, little did I know how much I would rely on it. I use it for everything. And I mean everything. Eyeshadow, eyeliner, bronzer, blush and highlighter - this has it all. I particularly recommend the shades Ember, Onyx and Instinct and the lovely pink shade. This is the perfect product for travelling or for taking with you on the morning commute - because it is perfectly okay to put your makeup on when you're on the train - because you have everything you need in one place.


Eyelashes: Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes Mascara, £21 tartecosmetics.com



Tarte Light, Camera, Lashes

A cult classic, Light, Camera, Lashes mascara is the best mascara I've ever used. As someone who has never worn false eyelashes, I am constantly trying to replicate that length and volume - and this mascara does it. The one downside is it doesn't last as long as you'd like for the price. But that aside, this is a must-have.


Eyeliner: e.l.f cosmetics Expert Liquid Liner in Jet Black, £3 superdrug.com



e.l.f. cosmetics Expert Liquid Liner

I personally don't wear liquid liner everyday, but if I were to recommend one it would be e.l.f's Expert Liquid Liner. Boasting an applicator as good as plenty of liners four times the price, this is a great product for your everyday routine.


Lips: Nuxe Paris Ultra-Nourishing Lip Balm, £10.50 spacenk.com



Nuxe Ultra-Nourishing Lip Balm

I found this lip balm when I decided one winter Vaseline just didn't cut the mustard. Enter Nuxe Paris' wonder lip balm that has saved my dry lips from wreck and ruin during those horrid months around Christmas. I've had the same pot for over a year and it is only half used. As well as being a killer lip balm, it is also great to mix with lipstick to create a glossy finish.


Lips: Charlotte Tilbury in Bond Girl, £24 charlottetilbury.com; Givenchy No. 315 Framboise Velours, £26.50 debenhams.com; Tarte Lip Sculptor in Kind, £21 tartecosmetics.com



My favourite part of the makeup application process - lipsticks! I love wearing lipstick and often wear a different shade everyday, so it was far too difficult for me to only choose one. I've managed to narrow it down to a shortlist of three. In order from left to right, we have Charlotte Tilbury's delicious Bond Girl that stays put for hours on end with only a top up or two required, the beautiful Givenchy pink that is perfect for making a statement and Tarte's nude lip sculptor that comes with a lip gloss on the other end. All of these lipsticks are expensive but they have lasted for around two years - I would recommend the investment.


129 views0 comments
bottom of page